About Header 2023

Music Director

Following the departure of Teddy Abrams, and prior to launching its search for the Britt Festival Orchestra’s next conductor, the Britt Festival Orchestra will be joined this summer by two guest conductors, Peter Bay and Alexandra Arrieche, who will split the season.

For Peter Bay, who was the orchestra’s Music Director from 1993 to 2012, it’s a homecoming. He holds the role of Music Director and Conductor of the Austin Symphony Orchestra (TX), a post he has occupied since 1998. “It’s an honor and great pleasure to be returning to the Peter Britt Festival, and to be able to work with the extraordinary Britt Festival Orchestra once again,” said Bay. “I spent twenty of the greatest summers at Britt, making music with them and the world’s greatest soloists. Returning to the Pavillion will be very special for me, and I hope our audiences will enjoy the music emanating from the stage!” Bay will lead the orchestra for performances on June 13, 15, 20, and 21.

Alexandra Arrieche is a newcomer to the Britt stage, but no stranger to audiences of both orchestral and popular music. In addition to the roles as Music Director of the Henderson Symphony Orchestra (NV), Principal Conductor of the Antwerp Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director of the Olympia Symphony Orchestra (WA), she tours the world leading the BBC Proms Orchestra, and just completed a holiday tour conducting the orchestra along with Britt fan-favorite band Toto. “I am so thrilled to be part of Britt as a guest conductor sharing the podium with the amazing Peter Bay. I’m looking forward to meeting this beautiful and vibrant community with exciting programs coming up, and I can’t wait to share all this amazing music with you all” said Arrieche. Arrieche will conduct the BFO for performances on June 22, 27, and 29.

For more information, visit: https://www.brittfest.org/britt-festival-orchestra-announces-two-2024-guest-conductors/

We will be beginning our nationwide search for our new Music Director in 2024 with the view to bring 3 finalists to the podium for the 2025 season.